You are required to ensure that your vehicle complies with all laws and regulations with regard to vehicle safety, condition and operation. We advise that you obtain a Safety Inspection at least every year to ensure your car is safe to operate. A typical Safety Inspection includes 14 key areas which should be tested on and should be in uppermost condition:

1. Visual Overview

  • Certificate of registration
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • License plate(s) Decal

2. Brake Tests

  • Parking brake
  • Service brake

3. Exhaust System

  • Exhaust system components/Muffler
  • Visible blue or black smoke

4. Steering and Suspension

  • Steering wheel and box
  • Suspension/front end
  • Springs
  • Shocks

5. Horn

  • Sound horn to test for adequate signal
  • The horn must be securely fastened to the vehicle

6. Glazing, Glass and Windshield Wipers

  • Windshield
  • Windshield wipers and washer
  • Windows
  • Tint

7. Rear View Mirror

  • Rear view mirror
  • Mirrors (General)

8. Lighting Devices

  • Head light aim
  • Hazard lights/directionals/stop/reverse lights/and license plate light(s)
  • Reflectors

9. Tires and Wheels

10. Bumper, Fenders, and Fuel Tank

  • Bumpers
  • Fenders
  • Floor pans
  • Fuel tank
  • Vehicle Frame or Chassis

11. Altered Vehicle Height

12. Seat Belts

13. Airbags

14. Fuel Tank Cap

Did this answer your question?